“A dying breed”? Really?

I was visiting my uncle in the nursing home the other day and his nurse came in.
When I said something about school starting soon, he joined the conversation:

“Oh, you’re a teacher!” he said. “What do you teach?”

“Information Literacy…I’m a librarian.”

“Oh,” he commiserated. “A dying breed!”

“What do you mean?”

“Well, you know, with Google and Wikipedia and all that…”

I turned to this mid-twenties boy and said, “Look, if you want to hear the same information about some recent, popular topic, go ahead and Google the sh-t out of it. Then, when you want to actually get to the heart of the matter so you can fully understand it, come to me and I will help you find the right places to look. You don’t really think you’ll get your nursing certification by Googling everything do you?”

He backed away slowly, hands held up in supplication, and said “You’re right, you’re right, I shouldn’t have said that.” but the look on his face said that despite the smile on my face, it was clear that I was not engaging in friendly banter here. The man had essentially called me a dinosaur! This is not the first time either. In January, a DU student did the same thing while we were in line for dinner at a local take-out joint.

I can school a student at a time but they don’t seem to be changing their minds. It’s up to us. We need to establish ourselves as a force with which to be reckoned.

What are YOU going to do?

 

Leave a Reply

